FORTY8 | Freestyle MX Online Magazine | Press Release
Press Release [Press Archive]

The NIGHT of the JUMPs season 2009
IFMXF Press release

In March the IFMXF starts with the NIGHT of the JUMPs in it’s 4th season of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championships. So far the title already stood on European ground. After Swiss Mat Rebeaud, the first ever FMX World Champion, Norway’s Ailo Gaup and French Remi Bizouard followed. Only thing repeated in every year: the title of the Vice World Champion went to Libor Podmol from Czech Republic. But 2009 the fight for the crown will be even harder, the riders more international and the trick level even higher.

The Kickoff for the FIM IFMXF World Championship series will be the NIGHT of the JUMPs in Berlin on 21st and 22nd March 2009. First time ever the new build 02 World arena will be the playground for the huge season opening. After Berlin the IFMXF will move to Graz/Austria. Here the World Championship contests #3 and #4 will take place on April 17th and 18th. Only one week later the fight for points will go on in Basel/Switzerland (24th/25th May). Again Czech town Liberec will be on the tour schedule. In the last years Liberec opened the season, this year it will be the playground for World Championship round #7 and #8 on March 2nd and 3rd. The last contest before summer break will be on May 9th with the NIGHT of the JUMPs in Mannheim/Germany.

After the summer it will go on with the NIGHT of the JUMPs in Riga/Latvia (10th/11th October). The season finals 2009 take place in Windhoek/Namibia on November 28th and Fortalesa/Brasil on December 5th.

In 2009 a group of 10 riders out of 10 nations will be invited to the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship contests. This will ensure a even more spectacular fight for the title. Amongst these FMX athletes are Steve Mini from Australia, US-Boy Brody Wilson, Jose Miralles from Spain, Italian Massimo Bianconcini, Fredrik Johansson from Sweden, Belgium Gilles Dejong, Fabian Bauersachs from Germany, 3 times Vice World Champion Libor Podmol (CZE), the 2007 World Champion Ailo Gaup (Norway) and the current FIM Freestyle MX World Champion Remi Bizouard from France. These 10 riders will battle for the FMX crown with a lot of new tricks. Two wildcard riders from the hosting nation will complete the field of riders. And even they will guaranty a most highly trick level.

2000 the first NIGHT of the JUMPs ever took place. In 10 years the series developed to the sports measure of all things in Freestyle Motocross. Only here World Champions are crowned and superstars born, who will be celebrated all over the world and invited to nearly every show contest around the globe. We can be surprised which FMX idols will be born out of the NIGHT of the JUMPs this year.

NIGHT of the JUMPs 2009
FIM Freestyle MX World Championship

21st March 2009 Berlin/GER Round 1
22nd March 2009 Berlin/GER Round 2
17th April 2009 Graz/AUT Round 3
18th April 2009 Graz/AUT Round 4
24th April 2009 Basel/SUI Round 5
25th April 2009 Basel/SUI Round 6
02nd May 2009 Liberec/CZE Round 7
03rd May 2009 Liberec/CZE Round 8
09th May 2009 Mannheim/GER Round 9
10th October 2009 Riga/LAT Round 10
11th October 2009 Riga/LAT Round 11
28th November 2009 Windhoek/NAM Round 12
05th December 2009 Fortalesa/BRA Round 13

More information, pictures and rider profiles you will find at!

back top